Cranborne Road, Newbold, Chesterfield, S41 8PF

01246 232370

Nurture, Cherish, Succeed


"Educating the mind without educating the heart is no education at all"


Curriculum Overview

At Newbold Church of England Primary School, we put the needs of each child first so that every individual can be the best that they can be. Our broad, balanced skills based curriculum makes many links between subjects so that children can use and apply their skills and values in all that they do.

Our school curriculum is underpinned by the following drivers:

  • Well-articulated distinctive Christian values.
  • A focus on the spiritual, moral, social and cultural development of the whole child.
  • A skills based focus that instils positive attitudes towards learning in all our children.
  • The premise that all children will receive a personalised curriculum that challenges and extends.

The Planning and Delivery of the Curriculum

The time children spend at school is limited therefore we must plan for them to use this time in the best possible way. We use a variety of teaching methods including whole class teaching, group work and individual programmes of study integrated across the curriculum, based on the needs of the individual child. We aim to provide a curriculum which reflects the requirements of the New National Curriculum, is broad balanced and skills based and offers stimulating and memorable learning opportunities.

The learning situations we present will be relevant to the children’s interests and stage of development. Wherever possible they will be stimulated by practical and visual experiences. Our school curriculum is based on the belief that a child learns through listening, seeing, smelling, touching, tasting and experiencing through their many senses, the richness of life. It is the richness that we endeavour to mirror in our School Curriculum.

The overview of our curriculum at Newbold Church of England Primary School

Click on any class below to see an overview of the curriculum for the year.


Year 1

Year 2

Year 3

Year 4

Year 5

Year 6